SUPER MOON MADNESS!

Tonight is the beginning of what astronomers call the Moon’s Perigee, the point in which the Moon is closest to the Earth. This means that tonight, the Moon will appear 12% bigger than usual!
Find out how to spot craters and

Not only is this the biggest Moon of the year, it’s also one of the most interesting. June 23rd’s full moon is classified as a “Strawberry Moon,” or “Rose Moon” It was called Strawberry by the Algonquin Native Americans because they knew this full moon was an ideal time to gather fruit. To learn more about this particular full moon, I’ve posted a link to a video created by the good folks at “The Farmer’s Almanac”, a trusted astronomy resource for over 100 years.

So I hope to see some of you down at Primland to look at this beautiful full moon. I know I’ll be training the telescope on it!

Happy Stargazing

About astronut1

I describe myself as a "historian, lore-ean, and motormouth." I consider myself a student of the humanities, as well as a teacher. My motto is that if I can learn it, anyone can.

Posted on June 22, 2013, in amateur stargazing tips, Astronomy Myths and Legends, Astronomy News, Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

