Wizard Magic Summer Course Via Outschool.com!

I’ve created a fun, interactive course about science emphasizing astronomy, chemistry, and electromagnetism with a Harry-Potter-inspired wizard theme! If you choose to sign up, your child will discover the enchanting world of science through a series of magical experiments!

How the class is Organized

Me as professor Regulus

I will pose as a teacher at a wizard school, and present a series of short wizard classes that include Astronomy, Potions (chemistry), Charms (DIY experiments), and Defense against Dark Illusions (Optical Illusions)

For each class, I’ll stress the connections between magical disciplines like Alchemy and Astronomy, and modern science. Each class has a video, a short DIY craft, and an experiment that explains a scientific principle.

Here’s a sample of the Astronomy portion of the course:

Astronomy: Magical Creatures In the Sky

Rather than teach about fake magical creatures like unicorns and windigos, I will teach the kids to look up and see magical beasts that they can see every night! I’ll begin by talking about what constellations are, and some of the most common constellations in the sky:

In the Northern hemisphere you can see about 88 constellations. In the center is the North star, (so called because it points North). Youโ€™ve probably heard that you can find the north if you find the north star and Iโ€™m going to teach the students how to find it.ย 

The north star doesnโ€™t move, which is why we put it in the center of the planisphere, but other ones do, as do the planets and stars. This part of the class will culminate with me instructing the kids on how to make a star chart that they can print out and use at home!

And that’s just for starters! I’ll teach the kids to make magic wands, make magical illusions, brew slime, and even send secret messages hidden in a book or a blank piece of paper!

The class is one hour long and it costs $10 per child, ages 6-12. If you’re interested in signing your child up, go to Outschool.com, and search for “Wizard Science:”

Hope to see you there!

About astronut1

I describe myself as a "historian, lore-ean, and motormouth." I consider myself a student of the humanities, as well as a teacher. My motto is that if I can learn it, anyone can.

Posted on June 16, 2022, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment